Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Faculty

Administration, Research, Teaching, Extension

Food Science Building (FST) 
360 Duck Pond Drive

Research, Extension

Human and Agricultural Biosciences Building 1 (HABB1)
1230 Washington St SW

 

 

Name Discipline Contact
Renee Boyer
Associate Professor
Extension Specialist
Understanding Food Handlers Behaviors Related to Safe Food Production/Preparation and the Development of Interventions and Educational Programs to Empower Food Handlers to Use Safer Practices 401-A HABB1
(540) 231-4330 
rraiden@vt.edu
Herbert Bruce
Adjunct Faculty
Beer Chemistry and Brewery Operations 117 Femoyer Hall
(540) 231-8440
brucehr@vt.edu
Melissa Chase
Consumer Food Safety
Program Manager
State Coordinator for the Virginia Cooperative Extension Master Food Volunteer Program, Food Safety Educational Programs 401-E HABB1
(540) 231-9749
mechase@vt.edu
Susan Duncan
Professor
Sensory Evaluation, Food Chemistry and Quality, Food Packaging and Processing, Water for Health, Milk and Dairy Foods, Functional Foods 202-B HABB1
(540) 231-8675
duncans@vt.edu
Joseph Eifert
Associate Professor
Microbiological Food Safety, Poultry Processing, HACCP and Risk Assessment, Food Laws and Regulations, Food Safety Education 401-B HABB1
(540) 231-3658
jeifert@vt.edu
Joell Eifert
Director
Food Innovations Program 402-C HABB1
(540) 231-2483
joell.eifert@vt.edu
Cristina Fern√°ndez Fraguas
Assistant Professor
Food Chemistry 402-B HABB1
(540) 231-6953
cfraguas@vt.edu
Linda Granata
Undergraduate Program
Academic Advisor
Academic Advising Assessment 25-D FST Building
(540) 231-9570
lgranata@vt.edu
Haibo Huang
Assistant Professor
Food Processing, Fermentation Engineering, Process Simulation and Economic Analysis 402-J HABB1
(540) 231-0729
huang151@vt.edu
Molly Kelly
Extension Specialist
Enology 14 FST Building
(540) 231-2158
mkkelly@vt.edu
David Kuhn
Assistant Professor
Seafood Quality, Seafood Safety, Aquaculture Research and Outreach Programs 402-E HABB1
(540) 231-8643
davekuhn@vt.edu
Joe Marcy
Professor 
Department Head
Food Processing and Packaging/ Food Chemistry, Packaging Integrity Testing, Modified Atmosphere Packaging (MAP) and Aseptic Packaging Research 22-A FST Building
(540) 231-7850
jmarcy@vt.edu
Andrew Neilson
Assistant Professor
Development of Functional Foods for Health, with Emphasis in Diabetes, Obesity and Gastrointestinal Health, Digestion and Absorption of Phytonutrients, Food Analysis and Mass Spectrometry 1013 ILS Building
(540) 231-8391
andrewn@vt.edu
Sean O'Keefe
Professor
Food Chemistry, Lipid and Flavor Chemistry 402-A HABB1
(540) 231-4437
okeefes@vt.edu
Monica Ponder
Associate Professor
Microbial Interactions of Native Microbes with its Host and Other Microbes, Especially Human Pathogens 401-D HABB1
(540) 231-5031
mponder@vt.edu
Michael Schwarz
Director
VA Seafood AREC
Aquaculture 102 S. King Street Hampton, VA
(757) 727-4861
mschwarz@vt.edu
Amanda Stewart
Assistant Professor
Wine and Hard Cider Quality, Food and Beverage Fermentation, The Role of Fermented Foods and Beverages in Human Health 401-F HABB1
(540) 231-0868
amanda.stewart@vt.edu
Laura Strawn
Assistant Professor
Enhanced microbial safety of produce production at both the pre- and post-harvest level. Eastern Shore AREC
(757) 414-0724
lstrawn@vt.edu
Brian Wiersema
Pilot Plant Manager
Pilot Plant Operations 103-F1 HABB1
(540) 231-0864
wiersema@vt.edu
Robert Williams
Associate Professor
Food Safety/ Food Microbiology, Detection and Control of Pathogenic and Spoilage Microorganisms in Foods 401-C HABB1
(540) 231-4106
rcwillia@vt.edu